Blair athletes honored at winter sports ceremony

March 10, 2010, 7:22 a.m. | By Blake Morgan-Gamber | 10 years, 8 months ago

226 Blazers awarded for athletic success

The Blair winter sports ceremony was held in the auditorium Monday night from 7:00-8:30 p.m. to celebrate the achievements of Blair athletes during the winter sports season. During the ceremony, each coach gave a speech commending their respective teams for the hard work they put in during the season.

Photo: Trophies were handed out to athletes across sports and in many categories.

The ceremony began with opening remarks from Athletic Director Dale Miller, followed by a welcoming address made by Patsy Hedrick of the Blair Boosters. Acting Principal Myriam Rogers then took the podium to recognize the 134 scholar athletes during the winter those who maintained a GPA of 3.25 or higher, including 36 athletes who earned a 4.0 GPA.

Photo: Dale Miller leads a cheer for the athletes at Blair.

Coaches from each winter sports team took turns at the podium introducing their team and commended their team for its accomplishments during the season. Each coach then proceeded to present a number of awards to individual players. These included the Coaches award (CA), Most Improved (MI) and Most Valuable Player (MVP). Distinguished seniors on varsity teams received the Outstanding Senior Award (OS).

Boys' Swim and Dive
CA - Eric Ruggieri
OS - Nate Hukill
MI - Joseph Arce
MVP - Jeffery Lin

Girls' Swim and Dive
CA - Laura McGehee
OS - Allison Arai
MI - Molly Branson
MVP - Jenna Williams

Junior Varsity Wrestling
CA – Jeff Garcia
MI – Ricky McCombs
MVP – Edwin Salvador

CA – Steven Staley
OS – Johni Meeks
MI – David Chow
MVP – Billy Saturno

Junior Varsity Girls' Basketball
CA – Mireille Verdonk
MI – Leslie Sosa
MVP – Melissa Romero

Varsity Girls' Basketball
CA – Sarah McMillian
OS – Inkera Patterson
MI – Adri Jackson
MVP – Johanna Lopez

Junior Varsity Boys' Basketball
CA – Harrison Reed
MI – Mohamed Baa
MVP – Tucker Canary

Varsity Boys' Basketball
CA – Lucas Babinec
OS – Cameron Reed
MI – Pape Koite
MVP – Dennis Mesidor

CA – Sara Pollacco
OS – Julia Wynn
MI – Aliyah Deville
MVP – Selena Wyborski

CA – Michelle Khoeun
OS – El Hadji Diebate
MI – Niya Seals
MVP – Alexis Fennell

Boys' Indoor Track
CA – Aaron King
OS – Jeremy Tousley
MI – Sekou Sangare
MVP – Jairo Fuentes

Girls' Indoor Track
CA – Lyla Shapiro
OS – Sarah Frank
MI – Jenni Skada
MVP – Cherrah Barclay

Blake Morgan-Gamber. Blake Morgan-Gamber is a rare specimen with two last names; she woos women and men alike with her fanciful features writing and sumptuous sports editing. But do not be lulled by this siren, though BMG is a creature of beauty, there's many amazing talents inside … More »

Show comments


No comments.

Please ensure that all comments are mature and responsible; they will go through moderation.