Over 270 Blazers recognized at spring sports awards night

May 28, 2008, midnight | By Anika Manzoor | 12 years, 4 months ago

Athletes honored for their academic and athletic prowess

The 2008 spring sports awards banquet, which was held in the auditorium May 27 at 7 p.m., honored over 270 Blazers who participated in the spring season. Over 205 athletes were distinguished as "Scholar Athletes," students who maintained a 3.25 or higher throughout the season, and 52 received awards from their coaches because of their exceptional athleticism, sportsmanship and dedication to their sports.

Athletic Director Dale Miller and Blair Athletic Boosters President Patsy Hedrick began the evening by thanking parents and other supporters of Blair athletics, and then went on to acknowledge the Scholar Athletes. Principal Darryl Williams and Miller individually presented the 43 Blazers who maintained a 4.0 GPA throughout the season with a badge for their accomplishment.

Louis Hoelman, varsity softball head coach, commenced the distribution of team awards, during which coaches shared highlights of the season and presented awards from four categories: Most Valuable Player (MVP), Outstanding Senior (OS), Most Improved (MI) and Coach's Award (CA). The awards and recipients are as follows:

Photo: Senior Hilary Bragg accepts the Most Valuable Player award and, for tradition, returns Louis Hoelman's flamingo.

Varsity Softball

MVP - Hillary Bragg
OS - Katie Scott
MI - Caitlin Ludington
CA - Eve Kenney

JV Softball

MVP - Rachel Gelfeld
MI - Daniela Durva
CA - Leah Ragen

Track and Field

Girls MVP - Sarah McMillian
Boys MVP - Jonathan Haughton
Girls OS - Johanna Gretschel
Boys OS - Louis Varella
Girls MI - Brianna Vianton
Boys MI - Mohamed Mansaray
Girls CA - Brianna Taylor
Boys CA - Keith Ayensu

Boys' Volleyball

MVP - Willy Li
OS - Steven Lu
MI - Peter Qiao
CA - Sina Shahamatdar

Coed Volleyball

MVP - Ignaci Gaete
OS - Julie Brice
MI - Devin Peck
CA - Olivia Bozik

Varsity Girls' Lacrosse

MVP - Helen Anderson
OS - Rachita Sood
MI - Nellie Garlow
CA - Susie Branson

JV Girls' Lacrosse

MVP - Rebecca Novello
MI - Alaina Briceland-Betts
CA - Seema Habash

Varsity Boys' Lacrosse

MVP - Andy Holmes
OS - Jamie Binns
MI - Mark Goodman
CA - Guodong Fu

JV Boys' Lacrosse

MVP - Danny Jones
MI - Aaron Baldwin
CA - Johnni Meeks

Varsity Baseball

MVP - Ruben Aguirre
OS - Carlos Mesa
MI - Brady Ettinger
CA - Neil Corran

JV Baseball

MVP - Ben Hukill
MI - Nate Hukill
CA - Lucas Babinec


MVP - Dukyoung Park
OS - Michael Hsu
MI - Ajay Kannan
CA - Charles Kong


MVP - Abby Cember
OS - Nazanin Yousefnejad
MI - Renee Pierce
CA - Lily Felsenthal

Anika Manzoor. Although she may look like a cute and innocent freshman, Anika is actually a SENIOR(!!), who kicks butts and takes names on a daily basis. But otherwise she's very friendly with a sunny disposition and a constant snarl - er smile on her face =D … More »

Show comments


No comments.

Please ensure that all comments are mature and responsible; they will go through moderation.