SGA elections results announced

May 5, 2005, midnight | By Vivek Chellappa | 15 years, 8 months ago

Aryal, Demarais elected President, Vice President

The results of last week's SGA elections were released to the school today, May 5, 2005 after being certified by the SGA Review Board, according to sophomore Parliamentarian Eric Hysen. Junior Barun Aryal, who ran unopposed, was elected SGA President and junior Stephen Demarais was elected over sophomore Bao Nguyen and junior Soulyana Lakew for Vice President.

Hysen said all the candidates "ran great campaigns" and the election had "some of the closest races the school has ever seen" in the announcement this afternoon. He also urged students to apply for SGA appointed positions by picking up a form in the SGA Office, room 161. Applications are due May 27.

The new officers will begin their terms on June 1. A full list is below:

School-Wide SGA:
President: Barun Aryal
Vice President: Stephen Demarais

2006 Class Council:
President: Sayoh Mansaray
Vice President: Semhar Solomon
Treasurer: Nina Yang
Secretary: Tiffany Yee

2007 Class Council
President: Kenny Coleman
Vice President: Jordan Turner

2008 Class Council:
President: Vijay Baharani
Treasurer: Amy Li
Secretary: Boris Wassilev
Senators: Spencer Bonar, Walker Hatchett, James Jackson, Andrew Kung, and Jasleen Salwan

Tags: print

Vivek Chellappa. As Vivek beings his final year in Blair, several new hobbies draw his attention: his passion for standup comedy and making lists with only one real piece of information. Vivek has recently developed a strong liking for the works of Mitch Hedberg, Dave Chapelle and … More »

Show comments


No comments.

Please ensure that all comments are mature and responsible; they will go through moderation.