Montgomery Blair High School's Online Student Newspaper
Saturday, June 23, 2018 11:49 am
Sept. 15, 2008

Blazers advance to semifinalist stage of scholarship progam

by Katie Sint, Online Managing Editor
Forty-three Blazers have advanced to the semifinalist stage of the National Merit Scholarship (NMS) award, and three Blazers have advanced to the National Achievement Scholarship (NAS) competition. Blazers were notified of their success on Thursday.

Students receive this award based on their performance on the PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Finalists will be announced in February.

Out of an estimated 1.5 million possible applicants, only about 50,000 high-scoring entrants meet the criteria for the NMS. About 16,000 qualifiers are named semifinalists. Out of more than 150,000 qualifiers, only 1,600 students progressed to the Semifinalist stage of the NAS, awarded specifically to black students. Finalists for the NAS will be announced in late January.

NMS and NAS semifinalists are competing for scholarships including the National Merit $2500 Scholarship, the Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship, the Corporate-sponsored Achievement Scholarship and the College-sponsored Merit Scholarship award.

Last year, all 43 NMS and six NAS Blazers advanced to the Finalist stage of each program.

More information and entry requirements can be found at the National Merit Scholarship web site and the National Achievement Scholarship web site.

The National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists for the class of 2009 are:
Boyang An
Mandeep Bedi
Christopher Bodine
Violet Cavicchi
Abigail Cember
Samir Chainani
Jessica Chen
Kerry Cheng
Elaine Chung
Ramita Dewan
Robin Dreher
David Edelstein
Jiali Fang
Edward Gan
Jonathan Gootenberg
William Hess
Akimitsu Hogge
Emily Hsiao
Sally Huang
Sneha Kannan
Charles Kong
Eric Kuang
Alisa Lu
Peter Myers
Kevin Rawlings
Stefanie Robey
Sahar Shahamatdar
Xin Shan
Stone Shen
Joshua Snyder
Elizabeth So
Kevin Teng
Andrew Villadsen
Qiyu Wang
Yichen Wang
Monica Wei
Timothy Wheeler
Matthew Xu
Henry Zhang
Richard Zhao
Tai Zheng
Ya Zhou
Kiera Zitelman

The National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalists for the Class of 2009 are:
Lindsay Brewer
Jesse Gonzalez
David Harris

Share on Tumblr

Discuss this Article

Silver Chips Online invites you to share your thoughts about this article. Please use this forum to further discussion of the story topic and refrain from personal attacks and offensive language. SCO reserves the right to deny any comment. No comments that include hyperlinks will be posted. If you have a question for us, please include your email address or use this form.

No comments yet.
Jump to first comment