Montgomery Blair High School's Online Student Newspaper
Monday, July 16, 2018 2:54 am
Nov. 18, 2008

Student athletes recognized at fall sports award night

by Poorna Natarajan, Online Staff Writer
The 2008 Blair fall sports awards ceremony, held last night in the auditorium at 7, recognized over 300 Blazers. Two hundred and twelve athletes were distinguished as "Scholar Athletes," a designation given to Blazers who attained a minimum 3.25 grade point average (GPA) or higher, and many fall athletes were presented special awards based on their athleticism, sportsmanship and superb commitment.

Athletic director Dale Miller opened the night with thanks to parents, volunteers and student athletes. Patsy Hedrick of Blair Athletic Boosters followed Miller by continuing to thank those involved in the season, which she described as "probably the most successful season in Blair history." After the opening remarks and welcome, Principal Darryl Williams presented a badge for each of the 38 students who maintained a 4.0 GPA.

Roxanne Fus, cheerleading head coach, commenced the team awards portion, in which the coaches described the season and presented awards in four categories: Most Improved (MI), Coaches' Award (CA), Outstanding Senior (OS) and Most Valuable Player (MVP).


MI - Sabrina Sutton
CA - Jordan Copeland
OS - Jessica Arce
MVP - Jonathan Gillette


MI - Miles Reinke
CA - Brandon Jones
MVP - Adam Hallberlin and Maria Schechter

Junior varsity girls' soccer

MI - Vivienne Shaw
CA - Samantha Schweickhardt
MVP - Sarah McMilliam

Varsity girls' soccer

MI - Sofia Read
CA - Imani Pierre
OS - Anna Rassman
MVP - Annie Worden

Junior varsity boys' soccer

MI - Noah Wernstead-Lynch
CA - Robert Huang
MVP - Vikas Mendhiratta

Varsity boys' soccer

MI - Eric Hernandez
CA - Gregory Kohn and Michael McClain
OS - Michael Funes
MVP - Alexis Castillo

Junior varsity football

MI - Carlos Flores
CA - Shailesh Bogati
MVP - Caleb Furlow

Varsity football

MI - Victor Wang
CA - David Burnett
OS - Dayne Bolt
MVP - Andy Holmes

Varsity girls' volleyball

MI - Irina Somplatzki
CA - Kaitlin Schwindt
OS - Caitlin Ludington
MVP - Sibyl Brown

Junior varsity girls' volleyball

MI - Nika Liley
CA - Seema Habash
MVP - Libby Wei

Varsity girls' field hockey

MI - Rachel Passman
CA - Sonya Kaufman
OS - Julia Stratton
MVP - Katelyn Luker

Junior varsity field hockey

MI - Lyla Shapiro
CA - Jasmine Campbell
MVP - Anne Buckley

Girls tennis

MI - Sarah Tran
CA - Hannah Ho
OS - Sneha Kannan
MVP - Shilpa Kannan

Boys' and girls' cross country

MI Girls' - Julie Ufford
MI Boys' - Peter Myers
CA Girls' - Jan Nguyen
CA Boys' - Gabe Pollack
OS Girls' - Abigail Cember
OS Boys' - Greg Vogel
MVP Girls' - Elaine Chung
MVP Boys' - Rutvij Pandya

Share on Tumblr

Discuss this Article

Silver Chips Online invites you to share your thoughts about this article. Please use this forum to further discussion of the story topic and refrain from personal attacks and offensive language. SCO reserves the right to deny any comment. No comments that include hyperlinks will be posted. If you have a question for us, please include your email address or use this form.

No comments yet.
Jump to first comment