16 MCPS schools scheduled to transition to virtual learning this Thursday

Jan. 18, 2022, 10:17 p.m. | By Maya Britto | 2 years, 5 months ago

Due to mounting COVID-19 concerns, the county has decided to allow certain schools to shift to remote learning.

This evening, MCPS released a list of 16 schools that will move to virtual learning for 10 school days beginning Thursday, Jan. 20. On Wednesday, teachers will prepare for remote learning while students participate in remote asynchronous learning. 

The 16 schools are: 

  • Beall Elementary School
  • Briggs Chaney Middle School
  • Brookhaven Elementary School
  • Clopper Mill Elementary School
  • Captain James E. Daly Elementary School
  • Gaithersburg Elementary School
  • Glenallan Elementary School
  • Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Middle School
  • Lakelands Park Middle School
  • Neelsville Middle School
  • Paint Branch High School
  • RICA – John L. Gildner Regional Institute for Children and Adolescents
  • Sargent Shriver Elementary School
  • Twinbrook Elementary School
  • Watkins Mill Elementary School
  • Whetstone Elementary School

This decision was made after the county evaluated key factors including student and staff attendance rate, bus route availability, unfilled substitute requests, COVID-19 case numbers, and community feedback for each school.

The schools are scheduled to return to in-person learning on Monday, Jan. 31. 

Last updated: Jan. 21, 2022, 1:13 p.m.

Tags: MCPS MCPS policy COVID-19 virtual learning

Maya Britto. Hey, I'm Maya (she/her) and this year, I am co-Editor-in-chief of SCO! I'm passionate about social justice, music, dance, food, quality time with my friends, ice cream (but strictly vanilla), and good bad jokes. Stay cool, y'all. :) More »

Show comments


No comments.

Please ensure that all comments are mature and responsible; they will go through moderation.