And the award goes to…

March 8, 2015, 1:34 p.m. | By Nicholas Shereikis | 9 years, 4 months ago

If you're looking for a boring, conformist community, I can tell you that Blair doesn't have that. But what it does have is a very particular set of skills, skills that the students have acquired over their lifetime. Skills that make them stand out from people like you.

Sorry, I just finished watching a Liam Neeson movie. What I was trying to say is that here at Blair, we have some pretty remarkable students – and they all have their own special talents. And they put their skills to good use! In honor of these outstanding achievements, here's a list of recent awards and their recipients.

From left: Victor Xu, Mike Winer, Eric Neyman, and Eric Lu. Photo courtesy of David Stein.

Two teams of students from the Blair Magnet Program won big at this year's Johns Hopkins Math Tournament (JHMT). Junior Eric Lu and seniors Eric Neyman, Michael Winer, and Victor Xu earned first place for their efforts, while freshmen Dilhan Salgado, Anish Senapati, Noah Singer, and David Wu placed second. Blazers also took home awards in other categories at the JHMT. Winer, Xu, Salgado, Sambuddha Chattopradhyay, and Daniel Zhu all received individual awards for their efforts.

Senior Adam Busis earned third place in the University of Maryland Mathematics Competition. He was awarded a full four-year scholarship (plus expenses) and the University of Maryland College Park, as well as $400 in prize money. Busis also earned the highest score in Montgomery County.

Two Blazers participated in this year's Junior Science and Humanities Symposium (JSHS), as two of the five regional finalists. Stephanie Rager received second place and was awarded a $1,500 scholarship as well as an all-expense paid trip to compete at the 53rd National JSHS in Hunt Valley, Maryland. Sean Nair earned third place and was awarded a $1,000 scholarship. He also received a place at the 53rd National JSHS.

Sixteen Blazers were named as semifinalists for the 2015 U.S. Physics Team by the American Association of Physics Teachers and the American Institute of Physics. Seniors Adam Busis, Theodore Corrales, Matthew Das Sarma, Catherine Xue, Eric Neyman, Bendeguz Offertaler, Michael Winer, Victor Xu, Dennis Zhao, and Jared Marx-Kuo are among the sixteen. Juniors Cynthia Liu, Jeremy Du, Eric Lu, and Raymond Lin were also named finalists, as did sophomore Sambuddha Chattopadhyay.

Two Blazers won at the 2015 United States Synchronized Skating Championships in Providence, Rhode Island. Junior Audrey Krimm won first place wither her intermediate team, while freshman Sabrina Liang placed 10th with her novice team. Both Krimm and Liang skate for the D.C. Edge.

Tags: Cynthia Liu Stephanie Rager Bendeguz Offertaler Eric Lu Matthew Das Sarma Michael Winer Adam Busis Anish Senapati Audrey Krimm Catherine Xue Daniel Zhu David Wu Dennis Zhao Dilhan Salgado Eric Neyman Jared Marx-Kuo Jeremy Du Johns Hopkins Math Tournament Noah Singer Raymond Lin Sabrina Liang Sambuddha Chattopradhyay Sean Nair Theodore Corrales Victor Xu

Nicholas Shereikis. "Did you hear about the rose that grew from a crack in the concrete? Proving nature's laws wrong, it learned to walk without having feet. Funny it seems, but by keeping its dreams; it learned to breathe fresh air. Long live the rose that grew … More »

Show comments


No comments.

Please ensure that all comments are mature and responsible; they will go through moderation.