Blair wins awards at Montgomery County Science Fair

March 18, 2007, midnight | By Priyanka Gokhale | 14 years, 1 month ago

Senior is a runner-up for the grand prize

Sixteen students participated in the 51st annual Montgomery County Science fair in Gaithersburg this weekend. Senior Victoria Yao, one of Blair's 12 Intel semifinalists, placed first in her category and was a runner-up for the fair's grand prize.

The Blazers at the fair were joined by 344 students from 41 schools around the county, as well as 220 judges from 36 sponsoring corporations. After five hours of judging yesterday, final selections were made and presented this afternoon during an awards ceremony.

The ceremony commenced with a brief introduction by Dr. Pepper Buckley, the fair director and President of the Montgomery Area Science Fair Association. Buckley presented awards given by the 36 sponsors, and then introduced Anita O'Neil, the supervisor of Montgomery Public Schools science, who presented the awards in each category.

The awards are as follows:

Special Awards - awards given by corporations

American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics
Louis Wu

Association for Computing Machinery
Cyril Lan
Joshua Yanovski

Central Intelligence Agency
Yi An Sun
Jordyn Wolfand
Louis Wu
Joshua Yanovski

Northrop Grumman
Caleb Fan
Jacob Hurwitz
Louis Wu

Sigma delta Epsilon Graduate Women in Science, Omicron Chapter
Jordyn Wolfand

Sigma Xi - FDA Chapter
Melissa Troung, Honorable Mention

United States Air Force
Yi An Sun

United States Army Research Office
Jacob Hurwitz, 3rd place
Cyril Lan, 3rd place
Jordyn Wolfand, 3rd place
Caleb Fan, 2nd place
Brian Lawrence, 2nd place
Yi An Sun, 2nd place
Joshua Yanovski, 2nd place

United States Public Health Service/Commissioned Officers Association
Chuncong Du, 2nd place

Washington Statistical Society
Hailiu Yang

Water Environment Federation Stockholm Junior Water Prize
Jordyn Wolfand

West Montgomery County Citizens Association
David Tao

Yale Science & Engineering Association, Inc.
Caleb Fan

Categorical Awards - awards given by category of entry

Victoria Yao, 1st place

Computer Science
Joshua Yanovski, 2nd place

Earth and Space Science
Hailiu Yang, 2nd place

Yi An Sun, 2nd place

Environmental Science
David Tao, 2nd place
Melissa Troung, 3rd place
Jordyn Wolfand, Honorable Mention

Brian Lawrence, 3rd place

Medicine and Health
Andrew Ding, 2nd place
Chuncong Du, Honorable Mention

Jacob Hurwitz, 2nd place
Cyril Lan, 3rd place
Andrew Durnford, Honorable Mention
Caleb Fan, Honorable Mention

Senior Division Grand Award - a trip to Albuquerque, New Mexico to participate in the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair
Victoria Yao, Runner-Up

Priyanka Gokhale. More »

Show comments


No comments.

Please ensure that all comments are mature and responsible; they will go through moderation.