Fifty-six Blair National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Sept. 15, 2004, midnight | By Seema Kacker | 16 years, 9 months ago

NMSC announces, commends students

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of 16,000 semifinalists of the fiftieth annual National Merit Scholarship program today, Wednesday, Sept. 15. Fifty-six of the qualifiers were Blair students.

According to Karen Hunt, Director of School Counseling Services, the class of 2005 had two more qualifiers than last year's graduating class and 25 more than the class of 2003. About 90 percent of this year's semifinalists will become finalists in the program, according to NMSC. Finalists will be determined by an evaluation of SAT scores, recognition of the school principal and a detailed application. Nearly 50 percent of these finalists will be chosen for one of 8,200 Merit Scholarships.

Semifinalists were selected based on their performance on the PSAT last fall and represent less than one percent of high school seniors nation-wide. Qualifiers are also recognized as the highest scoring students in their state. According to NMSC, the number of semifinalists in each state was proportional to the number of graduating seniors.

The awards include 2,500 National Merit $2,500 scholarships, 1,100 corporate-sponsored awards and 4,600 college-sponsored awards. The value of these scholarships totals nearly $33.9 million.

Silver Chips Online congratulates:

Douglas Adams
Suzanne Adjogah
Daniel Aisen
Erica Anderson
Alan Bateman
Lydia Beasley
Koyel Bhattacharyya
Lauren Briese
John Chai
Vivek Chellappa
Martino Choi
Gregory Cox
Max Czapanskiy
Patrick Detzner
Srikanth Divi
Gregory Eden
Kedamai Fisseha
Abigail Fraeman
Ilya Ganelin
Bradford Gee
Sherri Geng
Daniel Hakim
Dan Han
Matthew Jordan
Gregory Jukes
Seema Kacker
Anahita Karimi
Saul Kinter
Justin Kovac
Siwei Kwok
Amanda Lee
Tencia Lee
Julia Leeman
Kendra Leigh
Randolph Li
Xiaoke Li
Nathaniel Lichten
Willington Lin
Eric Ma
Alexander Mont
Renee Park
Padma Rajagopal
Amelia Sagoff
Joanna Skeath
Lauren Smith
Denis Sosnovtsev
Albert Tsao
Prasanna Vasudevan
Jacqueline Villadsen
Robert Vlacich
Kathy Wang
Max Wasserman
Min Wu
Yichen Xing
Kristina Yang
Lida You

More information to come.

Tags: print

Seema Kacker. Seema is a senior in the magnet this year, and is thrilled to be a part of the Online senior staff. She also plays tennis. More »

Show comments


No comments.

Please ensure that all comments are mature and responsible; they will go through moderation.