Ten Blazers recognized as Presidential Scholar candidates

Jan. 24, 2007, midnight | By Louis Wasserman | 17 years, 4 months ago

Seniors chosen for top SAT scores

Ten Blazers were among the 56 Presidential Scholar candidates for the state of Maryland, as announced on Friday, Jan. 18, by the Department of Education.

Candidates have the opportunity to apply to become a Presidential Scholar and "receive a medallion in a White House-sponsored ceremony," said candidate David Goode.

According to the Department of Education web site, Presidential Scholar candidates are selected based on their composite scores on the SAT Math and Critical Reading sections or ACT equivalent. Approximately the top 20 scorers of each sex, as well as ties, become candidates for the Presidential Scholar award. In addition to scores, candidates must be seniors.

The approximately 2,600 candidates nationwide are winnowed to 500 semifinalists based upon their application, and 121 are officially named Presidential Scholars during a recognition ceremony in May.

There is no money involved in becoming a Presidential Scholar. However, scholars receive a trip to Washington, D.C, to "meet with government officials, educators, authors, musicians, scientists and other accomplished people," according to the Department of Education web site. In addition, recipients of the prestigious award attend a series of ceremonies and events held in their honor.

Although Blair had 11 Presidential Scholar candidates last year, none of them went on to become Presidential Scholars.

Blair's last Presidential Scholar was graduate Sherri Geng, who graduated in 2005.

Though there are also opportunities to become a Presidential Scholar in the Arts candidate through application to a separate program, no Blazers took this route to become a Presidential Scholar candidate. Up to 20 students are selected to become Presidential Scholars in the Arts, making the maximum number of Presidential Scholars per year 141.

The Department of Education's website for the Presidential Scholars program can be found here. The full list of candidates is located here.

Blair's candidates are:
Merlyn Deng
Andrew Durnford
David Goode
Kathy Jee
Julia Kaufman
Jisung Kim*
Brian Lawrence
Benjamin Strauss
Eric Su
Rebecca Vogel

*Editor's note: Jisung Kim graduated last year in 2006.

Louis Wasserman. Louis is a senior in the magnet program who is quite pleased to be on the SCO Technical Staff. In his free time, he enjoys reading, listening to jarringly varied music (a typical example might involve a playlist switching directly from Enya to nerdcore rap), … More »

Show comments


No comments.

Please ensure that all comments are mature and responsible; they will go through moderation.